Accredited Training

Accredited Courses

We offer accredited training solutions to assist aspiring entrepreneurs, managers, employees and job seekers to improve their skills, gain recognized qualifications and achieve their goals.

The Services SETA’s facilitates skills development by establishing learning programmes such as learnerships, skills programmes, internships and other strategic learning initiatives. The Services SETA is tasked with monitoring the quality of occupation-based training within the services sector scope, as delegated by the Quality Council for Trades and Occupations (QCTO). The Services SETA works in partnership with public and private learning institutions accredited to deliver the training on its behalf.

The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) is a comprehensive system approved by the Minister for the classification, registration, publication and articulation of quality-assured national qualifications. The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) has been built on the principles of relevant and appropriate standards, quality and excellence. In short, the NQF is the set of principles and guidelines by which records of learner achievement are registered to enable national recognition of acquired skills and knowledge, thereby ensuring an integrated system that encourages life-long learning.

Selecting an NQF accredited qualification, you are assured of choosing a quality and genuine qualification that is nationally benchmarked and internationally comparable.

The objectives of the NQF as outlined in the NQF Act No 67 of 2008 are as follows:

  • To create a single integrated national framework for learning achievements
  • Facilitate access to, and mobility and progression within, education, training and career paths
  • Enhance the quality of education and training
  • Accelerate the redress of past unfair discrimination in education, training and employment opportunities

The objectives of the NQF are designed to contribute to the full personal development of each learner and the social and economic development of the nation at large.

The NQF is organised as a series of learning achievements arranged in ascending order from one to ten. Each level on the NQF is described by a statement of learning achievement known as a level descriptor.

Level descriptors provide a description of each of the levels on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF). The purpose of such description is to assist a writer of standards or qualifications in designing a qualification by allocating a level to a unit standard or a qualification, and to formulate outcomes and criteria for assessment that could clearly indicate the level of knowledge of a learner required to successfully achieve the unit standard or qualification.

In 2008 the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) Act No 67 replaced the South African Qualifications Authority Act No 58 of 1995. The NQF Act brought changes in the education and training sector – the levels of the NQF form part of these changes. There are now 10 levels on the NQF.

A Unit Standard is a nationally registered, coherent set of learning outcomes and associated performance criteria, together with technical and management information that supports delivery and assessment. All unit standards are registered on the National Qualifications Framework, assigned a level and a credit value that may contribute to the award of a National Certificate or Diploma.

A credit is the formal recognition that you have the necessary knowledge, skills and understanding in a particular field of study. One (1) credit = 10 notional hours of learning. ‘Notional hours’ are time spent on homework, assignments, practicing on the job, classroom time, or any other time spent to become competent in the particular standard or qualification

The role of the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA), as stipulated in the NQF Act, is to advance the objectives of the NQF, oversee the further development and implementation of the NQF, and co-ordinate the Sub-Frameworks. SAQA’s functions are set out in section 13 of the NQF Act, which, in summary, mandates SAQA to:

  • Oversee NQF implementation and collaborate with the Quality Councils
  • Develop and implement NQF policies and criteria
  • Register qualifications and part-qualifications on the NQF
  • Recognise professional bodies and register professional designations
  • Undertake research and collaborate with international counterparts
  • Maintain the National Learners’ Records Database
  • Provide an evaluation and advisory service with respect to foreign qualifications
  • Inform the public about the NQF
  • Provide advice to the Minister of Higher Education and Training

Stay informed! Join our monthly newsletter to receive free entrepreneurship tools, tips and tricks.

Ubuntu Business